On the Highlight Moments of 2012 and Stuff

Being a social media freak that I am, the first thing I did after I woke up today was scrolling through some updates on Facebook, Twitter and Path. It was then when I saw many of my friends published “Highlight Moments of 2012”. I found them pretty cool and decided to do the same, for the sake of reminiscing the good times, counting the blessings and being grateful. Well, those noble reasons, or I’m just being a mainstream person. 🙂

So here goes.

One of my highlight moments in 2012 is that fine evening in January, at the corner of a jazzy café when I was checking out a guy in nice pair of black shirt and pants and he was checking out a hot girl in a red dress and our eyes met. I blushed because he caught me and I was wearing sleazy clothes. I smiled sheepishly and it was then when he asked, “Do you like the music?” A question that started it all, if you know what I mean.

I forget the exact date we had our first kiss, but I remember that moment pretty well and it was definitely a highlight.

Also, the silent afternoon on the top of Batur mountain when the wind blew so hard and he insisted to climb a little more, all by himself and our guide shouted at him because it’s too dangerous and I shed my first tear because that very moment I realized that I didn’t wanna lose him. That’s when I realized that I’m in love. Oh, and the hot spring after. Totally.

The long silence before bed when he stared at me and said, “I was trying to put into words how much I love you,” when I asked what’s wrong. We had severe sunburns and I felt ugly and I was wondering if it would sting but those words quickly made me forget everything. Girls will be girls, eh?

That day in Rennes when I stepped out of the train, all confused because they left my luggage in a country 10.000 kilometers away from where I was and I couldn’t understand a single word spoken and it was cold and I started to freeze and someone appeared right in front of me with a huge bucket of pink and white roses. For a brief moment I thought my eyes were playing tricks on me but there he was, real and tangible, his reddish cheeks formed a giant smile and the next thing I knew, I was in his arms.

Was it my top moment?

Or was it the last night in Paris, when that particular tower lighted up at 00:00 sharp and I had tears in my eyes and we kissed slowly, deeply, like the world’s going to end tomorrow, because fuck Eiffel, I was with someone I love the most.

And the brief moment afterwards when two cops yelled at us for running through that forbidden grassy path and we just kept running, hand in hand, laughing.

In 2012 I traveled to some other places, got jobs I’d never had, tried out new things, learned a new language, wrote my first poem in French, scratched off quite some number from my bucket list, and published some works. Read and wrote more? Done. I also took great pictures. Some of them are postcards quality, I tell you. It also turned out that I actually love wearing dress and stuff that make me look like a lady (heels are still a big no, though. Make-ups? Hate ‘em).

In 2012 I learned that love and relationship are not something one learns from Cosmopolitan or Elle. Heck, those are not even something we learn from what people say, or experience. Love is very personal and undefined and there’s no such thing as perfect relationship, even though they often appear so. And those quizzes? Do them but don’t take them too seriously.

So I guess that’s it. The end of year is almost here. Like a guest who’s about to leave a house she’s visited, let me close the last blog post of 2012 with the only appropriate way I know:

So long, 2012. Thank you for having me. Thank you for everything. It’s such a blessing.

P.S. If you have a little time, do check this piece out. It’s something I read at the end of every year. It’s beautiful and it has been somewhat a tradition. 😉

This entry was posted in On Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the Highlight Moments of 2012 and Stuff

  1. Selly says:

    Ahhhhh happy new year kakak!! ☺

  2. happy new year kakak, salam kenal ya
    bang jay ngeblog

  3. karina says:

    ditunggu tema yang lainnya buat ditulis

Leave a Reply

